News Ticker

Entries Now CLOSED for Surface Design Awards 2020 – and we wouldn’t want to be one of the judges

The Veil - Giles Miller Studio & Orms - Commercial Interior

Entries are now closed for Surface Design Awards 2020, and with an impressive 107 entries spanning from 21 different countries it looks like this might be one of the most fiercely contested Surface Design Awards to date.

The awards have grown year on year to become one of the most respected accolades in the architectural and design world, celebrating the best and most impressive use of materials specified on architectural projects from around the globe. The 2020 judging panel of industry experts is co-chaired by Paul Priestman, designer, co-founder and chairman of global design consultancy Priestman Goode, and Amin Taha, chairman of Groupwork and director of Amin Taha Architects.

Morpheus Hotel Atrium – Zaha Hadid Architects and Isometrix Lighting – Light and Surface Interior

The remaining judges are Nikki Barton, head of digital design at British Airways; Sean Griffiths, an artist, architect and academic practicing at Modern Architect; Charles Holland, principal at Charles Holland Architects; Glenn Johnson, director of design at the Advanced Design Group of Collins Aerospace; Daniel Mota Veiga, global head of product design for KEF / GP Acoustics; and Steve Webb, co-founder of Webb Yates Engineers.

The awards take place during Surface Design Show 2020, the industry’s leading event for architects and designers, celebrating the best and most impressive use of materials in, and on, architectural projects from around the globe.

Fijal House – Mole Architects – Housing Exterior

Launched eight years ago the awards have become truly international with entries spanning 21 different countries including India, Australia, China and the USA.
Steven Holl Architects who became the 2019 Surface Design Awards Supreme Winner with their design of Maggies St Barts, have entered THE REACH at the John F Kennedy Center for Performing Arts into the Light and Surface Category.

Returning winners who have also entered this year’s awards include Maria Ana Vasco Costa from Portugal; Giles Miller Studios from the UK; Kris Lin International Design from China and Michael Grubb Studios from the UK.

Aesop Flagship Store – Snohetta – Retail Interior

Multiple entries this year have come from the distinguished industry names such as Ben Adams Architects; STAC Architecture; Wilkinson Eyre and AECOM.

Two new categories have been added for the 2020 Awards; Affordable Housing and Public Realm – reflecting the growing importance they both have on architecture and design.
The remaining categories are Commercial Building (Interior and Exterior), Light + Surface (Interior and Exterior), Housing (Interior and Exterior), Public Building (Interior and Exterior), Retail Building (Interior and Exterior), Sustainable Surfaces (Interior and Exterior) and Temporary Structures.

Writ in Water – Studio Octopi with Mark Wallinger – Public Building Interior

The winners will be announced at a breakfast reception on Thursday 13 February at the Business Design Centre, London.

All images from last year’s winners


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


Subscribe To Our Newsletter
Subscribe to our email newsletter today to receive updates on the latest news, projects and product news!
No Thanks
Thanks for signing up. You must confirm your email address before we can send you. Please check your email and follow the instructions.
We respect your privacy. Your information is safe and will never be shared.
Don't miss out. Subscribe today.
WordPress Popup